Lindsey's Photostream

www.flickr.com

Thursday, November 4, 2010

BLOG POST TIMES TWO

HOWDY COWBOYS!

WE LOVE YOU ALL. AND WE LOVE BACON, PINEAPPLES, MONKEYS AND CHICKENS. WE LIKE THE COLORS YELLOW, RED AND CHARTREUSE. PENGUINS ARE COOL AND YOU SHOULD WASH YOUR HANDS AFTER YOU EAT WAFFLES.

WE ARE THE KINGS OF REGANING, YAY FOR 30 ROCK. BLAH BLAH BLAH.

SORRY THIS IS SO WEIRD. ACTUALLY, NO, WE'RE NOT SORRY.

EAT SOME CAKE.

MORE TO COME

LOVE ALWAYS

MARISSA AND LINDSEY

Dual blog post TONIGHT

Guten tag, Cyberspace!

So, I haven't posted in, well, a long while. School, not to mention everything else, has been unbelievably hectic since September rolled around. How has everyone else's fall been?

Lately, I've been getting some requests from friends to post, which is a nice change of pace--until a few months ago, nobody knew this blog existed! So, to keep this newfound interest going, I'll try to upload at least once a week.

Anyway, tonight, Lindsey and I will drop in together for a big blogger bonanza, filled with anecdotes, nostalgia, lame jokes, and maybe even a list or two ;)

Also, exciting news: I haven't confirmed anything with Lindsey yet, but maybe the blog will get a fresh look to accompany this new era of regular posting. I'm ready to unleash my inner web designer :)

See you in a few hours!

Much love,

Marissa :D

Wednesday, September 1, 2010

hey.

WHAT UP WHAT UP
First thing I want to say- sorry I don't contribute very often. If you guys stick with us, I promise to write more often [for the five or so people who read this... tell your friends!!]
Next, happy September! Who's excited for school?!
Not
me.
However, there are plenty of things to look forward to this year, such as...
1. Fresh impressions on new people
2. Halloween
3. Christmas
4. New celebrity dramarama
5. Sledding once the snow is here!
6. Apple season! [mmm, I do enjoy them apples]
7. NEW TV SHOWS!
8. OLD TV SHOWS' NEW SEASONS! [Specifically Spongebob Squarepants and CSI: Miami]
9. More blog posts!!

Sorry for the short/lame list... help us improve by leaving us a comment or sending an email! You know the drill!

Peace out girl scouts.

-Lindsey ;]

Friday, August 20, 2010

Pixar poll

Bon soir, web surfers!

The other evening, my father and I watched Disney/Pixar's Finding Nemo, and I started to think about how much I love every single Disney/Pixar movie. They're all brilliant, beautiful, innovative and perfectly sentimental. The ever-present John Ratzenberger (who has voiced a character in every Disney/Pixar movie) and tugging at your heartstrings aside, each film is incredibly different from the next, yet they all manage to draw us in and make us fall in love with the pure genius at Disney/Pixar time and time again. It's extremely difficult for me to pick a favorite movie, but if I had to choose, it would be Toy Story, simply because of the memories of my early childhood that are associated with it. Also, it's kind of fantastic, and anyone who disagrees has to take it up with me personally :P

Now, I want to know what you all think! Please please please comment and tell me which of these classics is your favorite, and why. If you don't like any of them, well, to be quite frank, you should be institutionalized. ;)

Toy Story
A Bug's Life
Toy Story 2
Monster's Inc.
Finding Nemo
The Incredibles
Cars
Ratatouille
WALL - E
Up
Toy Story 3

By the way, part of the reason I'm doing this poll is because I really want to know if there are any readers out there, and if there are, I want to learn more about you guys :)

Love always,
Marissa

P.S. Comments? Complaints? Suggestions? Email Linds and I at lindsarissa.paranson@gmail.com. Thanks!

Monday, August 9, 2010

Resurrection!

Hola, loyal readers!

I'm back and better than ever, with something very important to discuss-- my weekend adventure, LOLLAPALOOZA! The famed festival, as usual, lived up to its enormous hype and was absolutely one of the best times of my life. I thought that I would do a little recap of the highlights (and, unfortunately, lowlights--though they were far and few between) of this crazy weekend.

FRIDAY:
So, on Friday, I arrived around 6, and therefore missed all of the goodness that went on in the morning. But the two shows I saw certainly didn't disappoint.

The Black Keys (6:00 - 7:15)
Of all of the shows I saw, The Black Keys--and their fans--definitely had the best concert vibe. There was just the perfect mix of chilling and dancing, and it made for one of the most enjoyable concert experiences.

Lady Gaga (8:00 - 10:00)
Right off the bat, I want you to know that I am not a Gaga fan--I don't enjoy her music one bit. But I have to admit, she can put on one hell of a show, and is, without a doubt, one talented performer. Between the impressive vocals, bizarre props and dancing, and innumerable costume changes, I dubbed Gaga's performance as most insane. Also, due to her incessant monologues and tangents, I also awarded her with most loquacious.

SATURDAY:
Saturday was very intense for me--I spent the entire time at shows and hardly took a break to eat! But the sore vocal chords--and even sorer feet!--were small cons to an otherwise fantastic day.

The Morning Benders (12:00 - 12:30)
I arrived at the Morning Benders completely unaware of their intense musical prowess. My friend Rebecca persuaded me into going, and I cannot tell you how grateful I am that she did. They actually blew my mind, which is why I am awarding them with best musical discovery.

The Soft Pack (12:30 - 1:15)
The Soft Pack... what is there to say about the Soft Pack? Well, for starters, they sucked. They were really loud. Their fans were undeniably and insanely douchey. And they won the worst performance of the weekend! Congratulations, the Soft Pack, you guys were pretty freaking terrible. It was legitimately impressive, the degree to which you guys blew.

Rogue Wave (1:00 - 1:45)
After I sprinted, fingers in my ears, away from the screechy Soft Pack, I checked my handy-dandy program and noticed that Rogue Wave was playing at adidas MEGA, which was all the way across the park. I'd never heard of Rogue Wave, but I was totally in the mood for some good music, so I decided to take my chances. I trekked across Grant Park, my motivation to escape the loud non-musical noise of the Soft Pack pushing me with great speed toward adidas MEGA. That long walk was not in vain--Rogue Wave was great! That is why I am awarding them with second best discovery.

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros (6:30 - 7:30)
Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros are known for their wild shows and intense hippie-dom. Now, I certainly understand why. At various points during the show, the bandmates requested we pop a squat on the muddy ground, had a little dance party on the stage while we jumped around like lunatics, and had us all laughing and singing along for the entirety of the show. Therefore, I have dubbed their performance as undoubtedly the funnest--for both the audience and the performers.

Phoenix (8:30 - 10:00)
Phoenix, the french quartet, is one of my all-time favorite musical groups. Their sound is so unique, and it translates beautifully from recording to live performance. On stage, they are so lively and precise and purely wonderful that it is literally like musical catharsis to watch them play. The experience was euphoric and crazily great. Therefore, Phoenix's hour and half performance (which actually clocked in at around an hour fifteen, to my immense disappointment) were the best hour and fifteen minutes I spent at Lollapalooza. Obviously, I have decided that they were the best performance of the weekend.

SUNDAY:
Sunday was off to a rocky start--I couldn't find my friends before the first show, it was wayy too wet, and I trashed one of my favorite pairs of shoes! C'est la vie--and, after all, it was all in the name of great music.

Miniature Tigers (11:30 - 12:15)
Miniature Tigers was miserably wet and lonely for me--that is, until I bumped into some friends and eventually located my designated Lolla partner (my friend Rebecca, whom I mentioned earlier). Despite the not-so-pleasant scenario, I gritted my teeth and set aside my comfort for the sake of Miniature Tigers, a favorite band of mine. It was well worth it--Miniature Tigers, along with Phoenix, are good performers--not too talkative, not too many frills--just good old fashioned music. They were definitely the most intimate show I attended.

Mumford and Sons (3:00 - 4:00)
Rolling Stone magazine named Mumford and Sons as one of the five best new artists of 2010, and not without reason--they pretty much rock my world. Their show was so lively and fun and full of happy, foot-thumping, head-bobbing, air-fiddle-playing people--hence, they were the most danceable performance!

MGMT (6:00 - 7:15)
I am a big MGMT fan. However, two other bands I was super excited to see--The Temper Trap and Wolfmother--were playing at the same time. Yeah. Dilemma central. So, I decided to see MGMT, simply because I know more of their music. I don't really stand by that decision. They were incredibly quiet--yes, I was standing pretty far away, but still, I could barely hear them--yikes. So, yeah. MGMT was pretty disappointing... oh well.

The National (7:15 - 8:30)
Well, the National is kind of awesome and wonderful and just freaking spectacular. They have insanely dedicated fans and the ability to convert any new listener to fandom within basically 3 seconds. Their sound live is just... impeccable. Yeah, I liked them a lot. Decidedly, they had the best sound of anyone at Lollapalooza.

Arcade Fire (8:30 - 10:00)
For anyone out there who has been to an Arcade Fire concert, you will probably agree with the next statement I make--Arcade Fire puts on an expertly weird show. But not weird in a bad way. In fact, weird in the best way possible. They're very experimental with their sound, and I really like that. Also, their fans are WILD. There were so many people at that concert we were packed together like legitimate sardines. No joke. My claustrophobia kicked into overdrive--that is, until their ethereal and innovative music flooded Grant Park. Despite being the sweatiest show, Arcade Fire was also the best way to close this indescribably great weekend.

Oh, and a funny story about Arcade Fire--my friends Rebecca, Nora and I were standing pretty far back and didn't have a great view of the stage. Everyone around us was crowd-surfing in a pretty much fruitless attempt to break through to the front. Rebecca and I persuaded Nora (literally persuaded--I had to scream expletives at her until she complied) to try it--and she ended up surfing all the way to the front, where she was pulled over the fence! Somehow, she made it back to us through the massive throng of people. It was pretty brilliant.

This has gone on long enough. I love you all--and the blog is back!

XOXOXOXO,

Marissa

P.S. Sorry this took me so long to write, I promise the next post will be shorter--much, much shorter... ;)

Saturday, June 19, 2010

We're baa-ack!

Hey guys!

I am so sorry for not posting in a month! Life's been pretty hectic. Summer could not have come at a better time. For the past two weeks, Linds and I have been spending time with friends and reveling in some well-deserved down time. But as of today, summer is officially picking up the pace-- Lindsey left yesterday for sleep away camp (the same one I used to attend many, many moons ago) for four weeks. I will going to miss her a ton, but we'll write, and she'll be back before I know it. I am embarking for camp tomorrow afternoon. But my camp isn't your typical woodsy, buggy, walk-around-all-day-in-pajama-bottoms-and-a-sports-bra sleep away camp-- it's actually book or, as I like to call it, nerd camp! I am going to be reading classic novels, participating in discussions and writing reflective essays/poems/stories within the confines of a cozy college campus for two weeks in sunny California. Not too shabby, eh? Now, I am not sure whether or not I will have Internet access, but my gut says no. So, this may be my last post for two weeks! Keep your fingers crossed :)

I just wanted to check in on you all and let you know that Flibbertigibbet is alive and well--Lindsey and I are just on summer hiatus.

Love always,
Marissa :)

P.S. I loooooove my iPad. So much. I'm posting from it right now! Hooray for BlogPress!


- Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Various updates

Hey guys!

First things first--I got an iPad! :D It is literally the light of my life. I adore it. I was thinking of making this post an ode to its beauty, however, that would be boring and slightly creepy. Therefore, I have decided, why not make a list? I'm kind of brain dead and I don't feel like coming up with some cleverly worded observations, so a list = the perfect solution.

This weekend, Lindsey and I painted each of our nails a different color. We used various brands, like Essie, Piggy Toes, etc., but my personal favorite is OPI. Their nail colors are extra pretty and really great quality. There's a lot to love about OPI's nail polishes. Yet, in my opinion, the best part is their highly entertaining and ridiculous nail color names. So I'm going to make a list of the best OPI nail polish names. And by best, I mean craziest, weirdest, most outrageously strange names. Here goes!

1) Yoga-ta Get this Blue!
2) Funny Bunny
3) Pink-a-Doodle
4) Second Honeymoon
5) Mimosas for Mr. & Mrs.
6) Suzi & the Lifeguard
7) I'm Not Really a Waitress
8) I'm a Princess, You're Not! (what the heck???)
9) Fiji Weegee Fawn
10) Who Needs a Prince?
11) Kiss on the Chic
12) What's With the Cattitude?
13) Curry Up Don't Be Late!
14) And This Little Piggy
15) Feelin' Hot-Hot-Hot!
16) Not So Bora-Bora-ing Pink
17) Gargantuan Green Grape
18) Sand in My Suit (LMFAO)
19) Need Sunglasses?
20) Aphrodite's Pink Nightie
21) Who the Shrek Are You?
22) Ate Berries in the Canaries
23) Melon of Troy
24) My Chihuahua Bites!
25) A Good Man-darin Is Hard to Find
26) Don't Know... Beets Me! (in honor of Dwight K. Schrute)
27) Teal the Cows Come Home
28) You're a Pisa Work
29) Chop-sticking to My Story
30) Tasmanian Devil Made Me Do It
31) Conquistadorable Color (weirdest. fake. word. ever.)
32) Friar, Friar, Pants on Fire!
33) Can You Tapas This?
34) Romeo & Joliet (my mom grew up in Joliet, so that's why I included this :))
35) Over Exposed in South Beach

So, that's it. Oh, and OPI? These names are really funny, but some of them are a little too odd. I mean, Sand in My Suit? Over Exposed in South Beach? What's the name of that line, Hoochie Mamas in Miami? Just FYI.

Love always,

Marissa :)

Friday, May 21, 2010

Best frienditude :)

Howdy folks!

Lindsey and Marissa here. Both of us together, what a treat!

So, Linds and I (I, Marissa, am the head typist of this operation) have decided that you guys need to know more about us. Because we're kinda cool, not gonna lie ;). Anyway, I came up with this idea that Lindsey and I write lists about each other, and we won't look at the lists until this post is finished. So, here goes :)

Marissa's List for Lindsey:
Funky
Spongebob-obsessed
Photographer
Shy Ronnie
Colorful
Happy
Brilliant
Quirky
Eccentric
Lovable
Curly
Effortlessly cool ;)
Crazy/hysterical
Proud muppet owner
Hippie
World traveler extraordinaire
Camper
Sporty (Go Blackhawks!)
Frankenstein Sticker
Cellist
Friendly
Totally and completely awesome
Great sister
Mature (sometimes :P)
and... MY BEST FRIEND. EVER.


Marissa is...
Intelligent
INCREDIBLE musician!!
Laugh-inducing
Possesses great vocabulary
COOLCOOLCOOL without effort
Smily
brilliant
just all-around awesome
bassoon player!
i was going to wear my four-inch gold heels...
Queen of awkwardness (in an awesome fashion, of course!)
rihanna.
spectacular writer
One of the only friends I have who will polish her nails 10 different colors with me
OBSESSED with the office.
secretly wishes she was a cast member of jersey shore along with snooki and them juiceheads!
cool shoes
loving family member!
MARVELOUS FRIEND!

Thursday, May 20, 2010

iPad, and other things

Hey guys!

I really really REALLY want an iPad, and I might get one soon. Problem is, I don't know a lot about them. I would use my iPad mainly for reading, writing, watching movies/tv, gaming/apps and music--not so much for the internet. So, if there are any techies reading this blog, should I go ahead and buy the first generation iPad without 3G, should I wait for a later version to come out, or is it a total waste of money?

Since this post is pretty short, I'm going to make a few announcements.

First of all, I am a member of the Chicago Children's Choir. It's an amazing organization, and with its nearly 3,000 members, it is currently the largest children's chorus in the country. I sing with the Concert Choir, which is the "top performing ensemble" (I know, that sounds kind of snooty. For the record, that's what the staff calls it) and on June 4th, we are performing at the Ravinia Festival in Highland Park. You all should buy tickets, because it's going to be kick-butt.

Second, for those of you who do not know what rugelach is, they're delicious Jewish pastries, and you should really have some! The Rugelach Man makes really yummy rugelach. Plus, he's a totally cool guy. So yeah.

Okay, I'm done promoting things.

Love always,

Marissa :)

Monday, May 17, 2010

Cook caramel if you dare...

HEY THERE :)

Yesterday afternoon, I decided to do a small extra credit project for science class. In our class, extra credit can consist of whatever you choose. I chose something I would think to be fun... instead, it turned into a sticky mess.
Eight tablespoons of sugar, and four tablespoons of water. That's all you need to cook caramel. You see, once the sugar becomes heated, it cooks down into a gooey syrup through a process called caramelization. Through this process, new compounds are formed, and they take on the dark and thick characteristics of caramel. (Note: I'm not scientist. Please correct/continue explanation if needed)
Anyways, it took me three attempts to come somewhat close to correctly executing the art of caramel.
Here's the URL for the site I pulled the recipe from, if you're interested: http://www.mahalo.com/how-to-make-caramel
Okay, you want to know now how it went?
First attempt: burned caramel. Sugar started bubbling and I started freaking out because I thought the smoke detector would go off/the kitchen would explode.
Second attempt: all was going well until water was added. Addition of the water resulted in a huge, evil sugar mutant. During this attempt, I ruined my mama's wooden spoon.
Third attempt: went okay... the caramel quickly hardened, though. Now, there is a brick of hard sugar sitting in a class jar at the top of my locker. It's rather malodorous, as the jar was formerly home to garlic.

If any of you brave soldiers are willing to try this recipe, go for it. If it comes out decent, shoot us a pic. I know I'd love to see!

More to come soon!

-Lindsey :)

P.S. Got suggestions? We'd love to hear from you. Shoot us an email!
P.S.S. Flickr is only a click away!

Thursday, May 13, 2010

Dissecting the dictionary

Aloha!

I am a huge fan of the New York Times' On Language column, which is dedicated to the study of etymology in pop culture, politics, and everyday life. In fact, my dream is to one day be a contributor to the On Language column, since I love words so much. About three months ago, Grant Barrett (a contributor to the column) wrote an article about words that are pleasing to the ear. So I, being thrilled by this prospect, created a list of words that appealed to me, either based on their meaning or their sounds (mostly both). I am going to post them here, and I encourage all of you to add on to it as you please.

1) Blossom
2) Galaxy
3) Glass
4) Crash
5) Crack
6) Luminous
7) Butter
8) Slick
9) Jingle
10) Patchwork
11) Crisp
12) Luscious
13) Cheery
14) Chipper
15) Shimmer
16) Cozy
17) Linger
18) Prowess
19) Pretentious
20) Dwindle
21) Ornament
22) Polychromatic
23) Intricate
24) Jolly
25) Exuberant
26) Sparkling
27) Texture
28) Scribble
29) Pour
30) Quiver
31) Music
32) Water
33) Twitch
34) Shiver
35) Trigger
36) Plastic
37) Enclose
38) Unearth
39) Lullaby
40) Descend
41) Embellishment
42) Qualm
43) Breeze
44) Scrub
45) Polish
46) Waft
47) Scribe
48) Bungalow
49) Brood
50) Conflate
51) Effervescent
52) Imbroglio
53) Labyrinthine
54) Citrus
55) Demure
56) Droplet
57) Whisper
58) Coddle
59) Syntax
60) Phonetic
61) Linguistics
62) Blur
63) Mirth
64) Juicy
65) Fatuous
66) Slender
67) Fickle
68) Myriad
69) Plethora
70) Acquiesce
71) Melancholy
72) Passion

Of course, there are zillions of other words I love, but these are the only ones that came to mind. I'm sorry about these obnoxiously long lists, I promise this is my last ;)

Love always,
Marissa :)

P.S. These words are in no particular order, other than the order they came to mind

P.P.S. Here's the link to the article that inspired this post. I seriously suggest that you all read this column. It is literally AMAZING!

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/14/magazine/14FOB-onlanguage-t.html

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Long time no blog!

Greetings, earthlings!

Neither Lindsey nor I have blogged in quite some time, so I figured I would drop in and say hello! My fellow blogger/bestie and I were in D.C. for a class trip last week sans internet access, so it was impossible for us to post anything from Tuesday (at 3:30 in the morning!) to late Friday night. However, we could have posted this past weekend, but due to severe exhaustion, we didn't. Hopefully no further explanation is needed, because exhaustion + teenager = not do anything. Anyway, enough with my boring life story, and on to some even more boring observations!

I've been thinking a lot about this summer recently and I have decided that I am going to do an insane amount of reading. Now, I'm not one to brag--about ANYTHING--but I am a really fast reader. I love reading more than humanly possible, and due to the stresses of school and the general craziness of life, I haven't found time to read much of anything lately. I've done some digging for good literature, and I have settled on 10 or so books so far, most of which are classics, that I will tackle this summer. Unfortunately, 10 books will last me, like, a week, so I definitely need to find some more. So if any of you Flibbertigibbet-readers (and I know there aren't a lot of you, but I appreciate your input all the same) have book suggestions for me, that would be SUPERB. Just comment on this post with the name of a book and that same book's author, and I will try my best to post my opinions on this blog after reading the books.

Thanks so much!!

Love always,

Marissa :)

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Listomania

Hey everyone :)

It's time for another list!

When Lindsey and I were brainstorming for a name for our blog, we originally wanted to include something about lists in our title because lists will be an integral part of this blog. We are avid Phoenix fans (I saw them live in December. It was life-changing), so I, being ultra-clever and wonderful (sarcasm :P), came up with the title "Listomania," a play on the name of one of their songs, "Lisztomania." Obviously, that fell through (hence Flibbertigibbet), but today, I'm making a list about my favorite musicians, and I thought this would be the appropriate title :).

My favorite musical artists are, in alphabetical order (NOT order of preference)...

1) Architecture in Helsinki
2) Arctic Monkeys
3) The B-52's
4) Band of Skulls
5) The Beatles
6) Belle & Sebastian
8) The Black Keys
9) Blue Foundation
10) Bon Iver
11) Broken Bells
12) Cake
13) Charlotte Sometimes
14) Choir of Young Believers
15) The Clash
16) Coldplay
17) Cold War Kids
18) Cream
19) The Cure
20) David Bowie
21) Deerhunter
22) Depeche Mode (circa Violator)
23) Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros
24) Elton John
25) Feist
26) Fischerspooner
27) The Flaming Lips
28) Fleet Foxes
29) Foreign Born
30) Fountains of Wayne
31) Franz Ferdinand
32) Fruit Bats
33) Gossip
34) Grizzly Bear
35) Heaven 17
36) Hockey
37) Honeyhoney
38) Iron & Wine
39) Joe Pug
40) John Legend
41) John Mayer
42) Kate Nash
43) The Killers
44) Lily Allen
45) Lykke Li
46) Matt & Kim
47) Metronomy
48) MGMT
49) Miike Snow
50) Mutemath
51) Neko Case
52) Nirvana
53) Of Montreal
54) OK Go
55) Passion Pit
56) Pearl Jam
57) Pete Yorn
58) Phoenix
59) Pink Floyd
60) The Postal Service
61) Queen
62) Radiohead
63) Red Hot Chili Peppers
64) Regina Spektor
65) Rilo Kiley
66) The Rolling Stones
67) Sara Bareilles
68) She & Him
69) The Shins
70) Spoon
71) Starlight Mints
72) Stars
73) Taylor Swift (my guilty pleasure... don't judge, everyone has one!)
74) Telekinesis
75) The Ting Tings
76) Tom Petty
77) U2
78) Vampire Weekend
79) We Were Promised Jetpacks
80) Weezer
81) White Rabbits
82) The Who
83) Wolfmother
84) The Wombats
85) Yeah Yeah Yeahs

For those of you who made it through this list, I commend your patience and dedication to time-wasting.

Thanks for bearing with me!

Love always,

Marissa :)

ADDITION: I forgot two! The Kaiser Chiefs and the Kooks :)

ANOTHER ADDITION: Bruce Springsteen!

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Lots of stuff squished into one post, plus our first list!

Hey kids!
If you've read any previous posts, you've met Marissa. Well, I'm the other half, Lindsey. So... howdy!
I've got a little brother. Seven years old. At school, a popular recess game is wall ball... my brother plays it and I played it when I was his age. The fashion kids at our school play the game in really has no long-term objective- catch the ball throw it at the building wall. If you touch the ball and drop it, you've got to sprint to the wall and touch it before someone else chucks it at the wall. Pretty simple game.
So a few months ago my dear brother becomes wall ball's number one fan. He took one of my dad's tennis balls to claim as his own ball. He takes it to school everyday for the purpose of wall ball. After school, he brings it home at bounces it against the fireplace mantle, simultaneously watching a sports game on the television, while my dad yells at him in fear the ball will smash the painting on the adjacent wall or the t.v. screen.
Anyways, the sound of a bouncing ball is now engrained in my brain. This prompted me to think about what one could do with a tennis ball... so here's our first list!

1. Cut the ball in half and fill it with pudding or soup
2. Shove it down your shirt for a modest uniboob
3. Throw it to your dog
4. Throw it to a stranger's dog
5. Throw it at your dog or a stranger's dog
6. Play catch
7. Play tennis
8. Turn out a light switch by chucking it at the outlet
9. Break a t.v. screen
10. Knock down a painting
11. Cut a small slit and use it as a piggy bank
12. Draw a face on the tennis ball and name it
13. Launch it at a random jogger/cycler
14. Play wall ball
15. Cut a round hole, fill it with grape juice, and insert a straw for a cool juice box

Marissa and I were trying to figure out how to make this an open forum thing... we will consult our techie friends. For now, if you've got stuff to add, shoot us a comment. Make sure you number your ideas. For example, the next person to comment should start with 16. Also, no obscene comments, por favor. They're funny for about four seconds.

Alrighty, I'm out... I've got geometry homework to complete... oh, and Glee was on last night! Can't believe I missed it! :O Sometimes, sacrifices have to be made!

Toooodles!
-Lindsey :)

Take note :)

Hey guys!

First of all, thanks for all of the feedback on our first post! We really appreciate it. Keep checking the blog (and commenting! :)) because Lindsey and I will try to post every day.

Second, I just wanted to direct your attention to the new addition to Flibbertigibbet's home page: Lindsey's flickr photostream! Lindsey is an amazing photographer and you guys should really check out her pictures. Oh, and FYI, Lindsey doesn't realize I'm posting this, and I really hope she doesn't get embarrassed ;). But seriously, look at her photos, because they're really impressive :).

Thanks!

Love always,

Marissa :D

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Hello, World!

Hello all!

We are Marissa and Lindsey, two random students who decided "Hey, let's create a blog today!" So here we are.

The purpose of this blog is for us to note every little observation we make. And to make lists. Lindsey and I love to make lists. About EVERYTHING. For example, two months ago, we had an hour long assembly. Within those short sixty minutes, Lindsey and I composed several lists about totally irrelevant stuff, such as our least favorite foods and gross things. And Lindsey has a notebook, called her "Happy Book," that contains a giant list of things that make her (and anyone who enters her house, because she makes all of her visitors write down things that make them happy in the notebook) happy! She got the idea from a book her mom gave her called 10,000 Things to be Happy About, or something like that. Sorry to the person who wasted a lot of time writing this book just to have me forget the title :/

Anyway, we really just want to share our crazy minds with the world to see if anybody appreciates them as much as we do.

Enjoy!

Love always,

Marissa (and Lindsey, who is working on a science project right now, and thus is not writing this post with me :P)

P.S. More to come soon! ;)